Kilpatrick Townsend

Insights: Publications

State Franchise Exemptions

LexisNexis | Practical Guidance

March 15, 2023

Written by Marc A. Lieberstein and Chris Williams-Lopez

A Practical Guidance® Practice Note by Marc Lieberstein, Rupert Barkoff, Sam Kilb, and Savannah Ashby, and updated by Chris Williams-Lopez, Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP. While there is no federal registration of franchise offerings, California, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin require registration of franchise offerings.

Related People

Marc A. Lieberstein


New York, NY

Chris Williams-Lopez


Atlanta, GA